Scholarship Recipients, 2016-2017

ADHA Institute for Oral Health's Wilma Motley Scholarship
A scholarship for $1,000.00 was awarded to senior dental hygiene student Bailey Wilson.

Baldridge Scholarship
The following students received the 2016 Baldridge Scholarship for their outstanding academic achievements in 2015-2016. Five scholarships in the amount of $500.00 are awarded in each class to the students with the highest overall GPA. The first-year dental students are selected on undergraduate GPA and performance on the DAT examination.

D1:  Thomas Beckstrom, Alli Blanchard, Emily Guarisco, Diana Huynn, Lauren Langlois
D2:  Davis Beard, Jacob Ellender, Aubrey Exnicios, Daniel Gonzales, Camille Green, Ashley Habetz, Brooks Hummel, Skyler Vaughn
D3:  Hollis Clark, Seth DeJean, Jonathan Doucet, Mary Laborde, Corey Romero
D4:  Kaitlyn Ducote, Leon Flettrich, Craig Murphy, Thuy Nguyen, Hailee Rask

Delta Dental of Arkansas Scholarship
Stephanie Grise, William McCormick, Kelsey Nutt are the recipients of the Delta Dental of Arkansas Scholarship. This award, in the amount of $500.00, honors fourth-year dental students from Arkansas for high academic achievement.

Pierre Fauchard Scholarship
Dental school faculty members of the Pierre Fauchard Academy select the recipient of this $1,000.00 award. The 2016 recipient is Jonathan Doucet, D3.

Tracy Helm Scholarship
Senior dental hygiene student Ashley Sturdivant received the 2017 Tracy Helm Scholarship in Dental Hygiene, in the amount of $1,800.00. The scholarships honors a senior dental hygiene student who is outgoing, kind, and considerate of her faculty, fellow students, and patients.

James E. Hargrove DDS Scholarship
Established by Dr. J. Eryk Hargrove, LSUSD '08, this scholarship is presented to a first-year dental student. It awards $500 for each year of dental school. The recipients are Davis Beard (D2), Aimee Dupree (D3), and Brian Chisholm (D4).

Hotel Dieu Medical and Dental Staff Scholarship in Dentistry
The 2016 recipient of the Hotel Dieu Medical and Dental Staff Scholarship in Dentistry is Lindi Perkins. The scholarship, in the amount of $500.00, honors a fourth-year dental student who has demonstrated outstanding scholarship, leadership, and professionalism for the first three years of dental school.

C. Edmund Kells Society Student Scholar Award
Selection of junior dental students is based on professional integrity, professional judgment, leadership skills, clinical skills, academic acumen, and participation in extracurricular activities. These two individuals are looked upon by their Kells Society classmates as exceptional student dentists and exceptional individuals. This year's student scholar recipients are Kathleen Adley and Caroline Sikes. Each award includes a check in the amount of $300.00.

John Lapeze Scholarship
Thien Tran, DLT junior student, was awarded the 2016-2017 Lapeze Scholarship in the amount of $500.00.

Louisiana Dental Laboratory Association, Dr. Raymond Schiele Educational Scholarship
Brett Perkins, DLT junior, received the scholarship, in the maount of $500.00, awarded by LDLA in August 2016.

Omicron Kappa Upsilon
Heather Badeaux is the recipient of the Dr. William S. Kramer Award of Excellence established by the OKU Supreme Chapter in 1986.The purpose of this award, in the amount of $400.00, is to recognize a rising junior dental student at each Component Chapter School who has demonstrated scholarship, character, and the potential promise for the advancement of dentistry and service to humanity as shown by Dr. Kramerís dedication to his profession, his specialty, and the principles and ideals of Omicron Kappa Upsilon.

Each year Theta Kappa Chapter presents two scholarships for academic excellence to senior dental students. The scholarships are based on the students' academic excellence, leadership, professionalism, and service. The Randolph Malloy/OKU Scholarship honors the memory of Dr. Malloy, a faculty member in oral surgery who lead the construction of the school in Baton Rouge after Hurricane Katrina and coordinated the return back to New Orleans in 2007. The 2015 recipient is Sarah George. The Robert B. Brannon/OKU Scholarship honors the memory of Dr. Brannon, a beloved professor of oral and maxillofacial surgery. The 2015 recipient is Sumei Sharma.

James L. Rodriguez Rodgers & Betty Rodgers Scholarship
The purpose of this scholarship is to provide assistance and encouragement to worthy dental students who have completed the LSUSD Summer Enrichment Program. The program encourages under-represented minority students and students from disadvantaged backgrounds to pursue a career in dentistry. Dr. James Rodgers is a 1976 LSUSD graduate. Students receive $200.00 for each of their four years of dental school.

D1  Seaira-Myangel Miles, Tami Nguyen, Tariq Swati
D2  Grace Bernhard, Trang Le, Kimberly Truong
D3  Lauren Roberts
D4  Ashlon Albert, Candice St. Etienne, Jessica Wilkins

William F. Toler Memorial Scholarship
Jonathan Doucet, third-year dental student, is the recipient of the Toler Memorial Scholarship for 2016. This scholarship honors a third-year dental student who has shown outstanding academic ability throughout the first two years of school and has earned a high opinion within the dental school community for scholarship, leadership and citizenship, and professionalism.

Grace Voigt Scholarship
The Grace Voigt Scholarship honors second-, third-, and fourth-year dental students who have demonstrated outstanding leadership, concern for fellow students and patients, high ethical standards, and dedication to the profession of dentistry. The 2015 recipients are Emily Allen, D2; Trace Favre D3; and Stephanie Grise, D4.


LSU Health Sciences Center Homepage
Disclaimer, Privacy Policy
© Copyright 2022. All rights reserved.

Last Update 5/2017