Scholarships 2009-2010

Scholarships 2010-2011

Scholarships 2011-2012

Scholarships 2012-2013


Scholarship Recipients, 2014-2015

ADA Foundation Predoctoral Dental Student Scholarship
Kaitlyn Ducote, D2, is a recipient of the ADA Foundation Predoctoral Dental Student Scholarship, in the amount of $2500.00. She is one of only 25 students in the U.S. to receive this award.

Baldridge Scholarship
The following students received the 2014 Baldridge Scholarship for their outstanding academic achievements in 2013-2014. Five scholarships in the amount of $500.00 are awarded in each class to the students with the highest overall GPA. The first-year dental students are selected on undergraduate GPA and performance on the DAT examination.

D1:  Jonathan Doucet, Gerald Favre, Sara Halper, Mary Laborde, Ellyn Marks
D2:  Kaitlyn Ducote, Joseph Daughenbaugh, Leon Flettrich, Craig Murphy,
Thuy Nguyen, Paul Pumilia, Hailee Rask, Anna Raymond
D3:  Heather Badeaux, Diane Bozner, Lindsey Richard, Zachary Scogin, Rachel Zachary
D4:  Christy Forsyth, Sarah George, Caroline Sikes, Jefferson Twomley, Sumei Zhong

Delta Dental of Arkansas Scholarship
Welsey Buchman, Deborah Ho, Jacob Seiter are the recipients of the Delta Dental of Arkansas Scholarship. This award, in the amount of $300.00, honors fourth-year dental students from Arkansas for high academic achievement.

J.E. Hargrove DDS Scholarship
Established by Dr. J. Eryk Hargrove, LSUSD '08, this scholarship is presented to a first-year dental student. It awards $500 for each year of dental school. The 2014 recipient is Aimee E. Dupree. Continuing recipients from previous years are Brian C. Chisholm (D2), Jade F. Fontenot (D3), and Lauren R. Hayden (D4).

Tracy Helm Scholarship
Senior dental hygiene student Megan LeBlanc received the 2015 Tracy Helm Scholarship in Dental Hygiene, in the amount of $1,500.00. The scholarships honors a senior dental hygiene student who is outgoing, kind, and considerate of her faculty, fellow students, and patients.

Hotel Dieu Medical and Dental Staff Scholarship in Dentistry
The 2014 recipient of the Hotel Dieu Medical and Dental Staff Scholarship in Dentistry is Carolyn Sikes. The scholarship, in the amount of $500.00, honors a fourth-year dental student who has demonstrated outstanding scholarship, leadership, and professionalism for the first three years of dental school.

C. Edmund Kells Society Student Scholar Award
Selection of junior dental students is based on professional integrity, professional judgment, leadership skills, clinical skills, academic acumen, and participation in extracurricular activities. These two individuals are looked upon by their Kells Society classmates as exceptional student dentists and exceptional individuals. This year's student scholar recipients are Kathleen Adley and Caroline Sikes. Each award includes a check in the amount of $300.00.

John Lapeze Scholarship
Paul V. Nguyen, DLT junior, is the recipient of the 2014 John Lapeze Scholarship. This scholarship, selected by the dental laboratory technology department, honors a junior DLT student for technical aptitude, responsibility, leadership, citizenship, and academic achievement in the previous year.

Omicron Kappa Upsilon
Heather Badeaux is the recipient of the Dr. William S. Kramer Award of Excellence established by the OKU Supreme Chapter in 1986. The purpose of this award, in the amount of $400.00, is to recognize a rising junior dental student at each Component Chapter School who has demonstrated scholarship, character, and the potential promise for the advancement of dentistry and service to humanity as shown by Dr. Kramer's dedication to his profession, his specialty, and the principles and ideals of Omicron Kappa Upsilon.

Each year Theta Kappa Chapter presents two scholarships for academic excellence to senior dental students. The scholarships are based on the students' academic excellence, leadership, professionalism, and service. The Randolph Malloy/OKU Scholarship honors the memory of Dr. Malloy, a faculty member in oral surgery who lead the construction of the school in Baton Rouge after Hurricane Katrina and coordinated the return back to New Orleans in 2007. The 2015 recipient is Sarah George. The Robert B. Brannon/OKU Scholarship honors the memory of Dr. Brannon, a beloved professor of oral and maxillofacial surgery. The 2015 recipient is Sumei Sharma.

James L. Rodriguez Rodgers & Betty Rodgers Scholarship
The purpose of this scholarship is to provide assistance and encouragement to worthy dental students who have completed the LSUSD Summer Enrichment Program. The program encourages under-represented minority students and students from disadvantaged backgrounds to pursue a career in dentistry. Dr. James Rodgers is a 1976 LSUSD graduate. Students receive $200.00 for each of their four years of dental school.

D1:  Lauren Roberts
D2:  Ashlon Albert, Candice St. Etienne, Jessica Wilkins
D3:  Collin Miller, Anastatia Simien, Timothy Tate
D4:  Yolanda Bell, Marcela Jolivette, Jessica Whiteside, Kathleen Zuniga

William F. Toler Memorial Scholarship
Brenna Croft, third-year dental student, is the recipient of the Toler Memorial Scholarship for 2014. This scholarship honors a third-year dental student who has shown outstanding academic ability throughout the first two years of school and has earned a high opinion within the dental school community for scholarship, leadership and citizenship, and professionalism.

Grace Voigt Scholarship
The Grace Voigt Scholarship honors second-, third-, and fourth-year dental students who have demonstrated outstanding leadership, concern for fellow students and patients, high ethical standards, and dedication to the profession of dentistry. The 2014 recipients are Martin Duplantier, D2; Whitney Walker, D3; and Brent Benoit, D4.


LSU Health Sciences Center Homepage
Disclaimer, Privacy Policy
Copyright 2022. All rights reserved.

Last Update 5/2015