Scholarships 2009-2010

Scholarships 2010-2011

Scholarships 2011-2012

Scholarships 2012-2013


Scholarship Recipients, 2013-2014

ADA Foundation Predoctoral Dental Student Scholarship
Lindsey Richard, D2, is a recipient of the ADA Foundation Predoctoral Dental Student Scholarship, in the amount of $2500.00. She is one of only 25 students in the U.S. to receive this award.

Baldridge Scholarship
The following students received the 2013 Baldridge Scholarship for their outstanding academic achievements in 2012-2013. Five scholarships in the amount of $500.00 are awarded in each class to the students with the highest overall GPA. The first-year dental students are selected on undergraduate GPA and performance on the DAT examination.

D1:  Ashleigh Attaway, Leon Flettrich, Thuy Nguyen, Blake Richard, Hailee Rask
D2:  Diane Bozner, Heather Brantley, Elise King, Lindsey Richard, Randy Roth, Amanda Sandifer, Zachary Scogin, Rachel Zachary
D3:  Sarah George, Matthew Leftwich, Christy Stasney, Caroline Sikes, Jefferson Twomley
D4:  Matthew Davis, Colten Ducote, Jacque LaBry, Eun-Chee Lee, Steven Nelson

Delta Dental of Arkansas Scholarship
Matthew Davis, Brett DeCoursey, and Brandon Mack are the recipients of the Delta Dental of Arkansas Scholarship. This award, in the amount of $300.00, honors fourth-year dental students from Arkansas for high academic achievement.

J.E. Hargrove DDS Scholarship
Established by Dr. J. Eryk Hargrove, LSUSD '08, this scholarship is presented to a first-year dental student. It awards $500 for each year of dental school. The 2013 recipient is Brian "Chris" Chisholm. Continuing recipients from previous years are Jade Fontenot (D2), Lauren Hayden (D3) and Joshua Reaves (D4).

Tracy Helm Scholarship
Senior dental hygiene student Anne-Marie Zito received the 2014 Tracy Helm Scholarship in Dental Hygiene, in the amount of $1,400.00. The scholarships honors a senior dental hygiene student who is outgoing, kind, and considerate of her faculty, fellow students, and patients.

Hotel Dieu Medical and Dental Staff Scholarship in Dentistry
The 2013 recipient of the Hotel Dieu Medical and Dental Staff Scholarship in Dentistry is Matthew Davis. The scholarship, in the amount of $500.00, honors a fourth-year dental student who has demonstrated outstanding scholarship, leadership, and professionalism for the first three years of dental school.

C. Edmund Kells Society Student Scholar Award Selection of junior dental students is based on professional integrity, professional judgment, leadership skills, clinical skills, academic acumen, and participation in extracurricular activities. These two individuals are looked upon by their Kells Society classmates as exceptional student dentists and exceptional individuals. This year's student scholar recipients are Kathleen Adley and Caroline Sikes. Each award includes a check in the amount of $300.00.

John Lapeze Scholarship
Truc T. Tran,DLT junior, is the recipient of the 2013 John Lapeze Scholarship. This scholarship, selected by the dental laboratory technology department, honors a junior DLT student for technical aptitude, responsibility, leadership, citizenship, and academic achievement in the previous year.

Omicron Kappa Upsilon
Jefferson Twombly is the recipient of the Dr. William S. Kramer Award of Excellence established by the OKU Supreme Chapter in 1986. The purpose of this award, in the amount of $400.00, is to recognize a rising junior dental student at each Component Chapter School who has demonstrated scholarship, character, and the potential promise for the advancement of dentistry and service to humanity as shown by Dr. Kramer's dedication to his profession, his specialty, and the principles and ideals of Omicron Kappa Upsilon.

Each year Theta Kappa Chapter presents two scholarships for academic excellence to senior dental students. The scholarships are based on the students' academic excellence, leadership, professionalism, and service. The Randolph Malloy/OKU Scholarship honors the memory of Dr. Malloy, a faculty member in oral surgery who lead the construction of the school in Baton Rouge after Hurricane Katrina and coordinated the return back to New Orleans in 2007. The 2014 recipient is Eun-Chee Lee. The Robert B. Brannon/OKU Scholarship honors the memory of Dr. Brannon, a beloved professor of oral and maxillofacial surgery. The 2014 recipient is Colten Ducote.

James L. Rodriguez Rodgers & Betty Rodgers Scholarship
The purpose of this scholarship is to provide assistance and encouragement to worthy dental students who have completed the LSUSD Summer Enrichment Program. The program encourages under-represented minority students and students from disadvantaged backgrounds to pursue a career in dentistry. Dr. James Rodgers is a 1976 LSUSD graduate. Students receive $200.00 for each of their four years of dental school.

D1:  Ashlon Albert, Candice St. Etienne, Jessica Wilkins
D2:  Collin Miller, Anastatia Simien, Timothy Tate
D3:  Yolanda Bell, Marcela Jolivette, Jessica Whiteside, Tasha Woods and Kathleen Zuniga

William F. Toler Memorial Scholarship
Sumei Zhong, third-year dental student, is the recipient of the Toler Memorial Scholarship for 2013. This scholarship honors a third-year dental student who has shown outstanding academic ability throughout the first two years of school and has earned a high opinion within the dental school community for scholarship, leadership and citizenship, and professionalism.

Grace Voigt Scholarship
The Grace Voigt Scholarship honors a second-, third-, and fourth-year dental student who has demonstrated outstanding leadership, concern for fellow students and patients, high ethical standards, and dedication to the profession of dentistry. The 2013 recipients are Brenna Croft, D2; Jeffrey Schott, D3; and Colten Ducote, D4.


LSU Health Sciences Center Homepage
Disclaimer, Privacy Policy
Copyright 2022. All rights reserved.

Last Update 4/2014