Faculty Achievement 2009

Dr. Billie Jeansonne has been chosen by the American Association of Endodontics (AAE) to receive the I.B. Bender Lifetime Educator Award in recognition of her contributions to the field of education in endodontics. This is based on her selfless commitment to full-time educational pursuits and the many ways she instills the pursuit of excellence in her students. Dr. Jeansonne is interim head and professor in the Department of Endodontics. She is also director of the advanced education program in endodontics. She will be the 10th recipient of the award.

Dr. Janice Townsend, assistant professor, has been part of our faculty for just two years and already has brought great distinction to the school and the Department of Pediatric Dentistry. She scored the highest grade of all 219 dentists taking the national examination of the American Board of Pediatric Dentistry. For this, she has been awarded the "Art Nowak Award of Excellence". She has also earned the status of diplomate. A tireless advocate for children's dental health, Dr. Townsend can be found many weekends doing outreach in the community.

At its next annual conference, the American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons will honor Dr. Michael O'Brien and Dr. Michael Block. Dr. O'Brien will be given the 2009 Daniel Laskin Award for an Outstanding Predoctoral Educator. He is director of the undergraduate program as well as associate professor.

Dr. Block will be honored with the Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Foundation Research Recognition Award. The purpose of this award is to recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the specialty through their participation and support of research. He is clinical professor in the Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery.


LSU Health Sciences Center Homepage
Disclaimer, Privacy Policy
Copyright 2021. All rights reserved.

Last Update 6/2009