News Archives


Congratulations Schweitzer Fellows

Fourth-year dental students Joann Tran and Angelica Singh have been selected by the board of the New Orleans Albert Schweitzer Fellowship Program as Schweitzer Fellows for 2015-2016. A national program with 12 affiliate chapters, the Schweitzer Fellowship annually serves more than 25,000 people through prevention, wellness, and access programs that address the underlying causes of health inequities.

Singh and Tran, two of fourteen New Orleans fellows selected this year, will work to increase oral health awareness and improve access to dental services for groups with limited access to dental care. They plan to achieve this through educational interventions, oral hygiene demonstrations, and oral exams. Starting at the St. Jude Community Center on Rampart Street, their outreach will expand to other locations in the metropolitan area.

l-r, Schweitzer Fellows Joann Tran and Angelica Singh

Schweitzer Fellows in New Orleans, who are competitively chosen from health-focused graduate student applicants in a variety of fields, work to address health disparities and the social determinants of health in the greater New Orleans area. Besides improving community health, the program enables fellows to develop leadership skills. The New Orleans program, established in 2007, is a collaboration between the Louisiana Public Health Institute, Louisiana State University, and Tulane University.

Nationwide, nearly 2,500 Schweitzer Fellows have delivered 500,000 hours of service to 300,000 people in need. In addition, more than 100 Fellows have provided care at the 100-year-old Schweitzer Hospital in Lambaréné, Africa. To read more about the fellowship, go to: http://www.schweitzerfellowship.org/chapters/neworleans/.

Congratulations to Joann and Angelica on their impressive accomplishment!

Faculty Lead in Professional Organizations

Henry Gremillion, DDS, MAGD, dean of the LSUHSC School of Dentistry (LSUSD) is the 2015-2016 chairman of the administrative board of the Council of Deans of the American Dental Education Association (ADEA). One of six councils formed by ADEA, the Council of Deans is comprised chiefly of deans of each dental school and the administrative officer of each federal dental service. The five-member administrative board meets at least once between annual sessions, manages the business of the council, and is responsible for planning the council’s program at the ADEA Annual Session and Exhibition.

Dean Henry Gremillion, DDS, MAGD

Dr. Gremillion will preside at the October 2015 ADEA Dean’s Conference. With the theme, “Reaching Across the Aisle,” the conference will address topics of politics and policy, collaborative practice, and economics of dental education.

A 1977 graduate of LSUSD, Dr. Gremillion has served as dean of the dental school since 2008. In addition to his position in ADEA, he is currently president-elect of the Supreme Chapter of Omicron Kappa Upsilon, the national dental honor society.

Molly Rosebush, DDS, MS, assistant professor of oral and maxillofacial pathology in the Department of Diagnostic Sciences, has recently been elected to the position of councilor of the American Academy of Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology. One of six councilors elected at-large, Dr. Rosebush will serve a three-year term through 2018. The Executive Council is the managing body of the Academy.

Molly Rosebush, DDS, MS

Dr. Rosebush received her DDS from the University of Michigan in 2005 and earned an MS and certificate in oral and maxillofacial pathology from The Ohio State University in 2008. She is author of the chapter on infectious diseases in General and Oral Pathology for Dental Hygiene Practice, by S.L. Myers and A.E. Curran, published in 2015.

LSU Health Sciences Center Homepage
Disclaimer, Privacy Policy
© Copyright 2015. All rights reserved.

Last Update 6/2015