News Archives

Congratulations Class of 2014

Graduation, one of the most rewarding times of the year, is an opportunity to celebrate the hard work and accomplishments of our students and faculty. On May 15, at the 43rd LSUHSC School of Dentistry (LSUSD) commencement, 113 graduates received their diplomas—66 doctors of dental surgery, 38 bachelors in dental hygiene, and nine associates in dental laboratory technology (DLT).

At the Recognition Ceremony on the previous day, 68 departmental and organizational awards were presented to meritous students. The top students of each class received the Dean's and Chancellor's awards. Stephanie Castay (DLT), Amanda Mills (Dental Hygiene), and Colten Ducote (Dentistry) received the Dean's Awards; Truc Tran (DLT), Claire Barrios (Dental Hygiene), and Eun-Chee Lee (Dentistry) received the Chancellor's Awards. Dr. Kristi Soileau, president of the LSUSD Alumni Association, presented leadership awards to Colten Ducote (Dentistry), Matthew George (Dentistry), Reid Owens (Dentistry), Jordan "Blake" Legendre (Dental Hygiene), and William Roshto (DLT).

Alumni Association Leadership Award Recipients: (l-r) Colten Ducote, William Roshto, Blake Legendre, Matthew George, Reid Owens with Dr. Kristi Soileau, association president, and Dr. Henry Gremillion, dean

Faculty members were also honored for excellence in teaching. Chosen by the graduating class of each program, recipients of Golden Apple Awards were Dr. Sherrod Quin, associate professor, comprehensive dentistry; Heather Allen, RDH, MSHCM, assistant clinical professor, program in dental hygiene; and Julio Zavala, associate professor, program in dental laboratory technology. During the commencement ceremony, the LSUHSC Copping Award for Excellence in Teaching was presented to Caroline Mason, RDH, MEd, professor and director of the program in dental hygiene.

(l-r) Copping Award recipient Caroline Mason, Golden Apple recipients Julio Zavala, Heather Allen, and Dr. Sherrod Quin

In his Recognition Day address, LSUSD Student Government President Colten Ducote commended the faculty. "The administration puts together a curriculum filled with raw material, but it's the instructors who bring that material to life. We all could tell stories of how each faculty member has had an impact on our education. To all of you, we truly appreciate the investment you have made in our future and we will do our best to uphold the standard of excellence that you have set."

To view the list of graduates, click here.


LSUSD Alumni Awards: Call for Nominations

Nominations are being accepted for two awards, Alumnus of the Year and Distinguished Alumnus. The Alumnus of the Year Award (est. 1998) is the highest honor bestowed by the school. The hallmark of each recipient is a distinctive career of lifetime achievement as well as a commitment to strengthen LSUSD through volunteerism and financial support. The Distinguished Alumnus Award (est. 2014) recognizes a graduate who has shown extraordinary lifetime professional achievement in the areas of dental education, research, or community service. It honors those who have made significant contributions to the profession of dentistry.

The deadline for nominations is August 15, 2014. Recipients will be honored at Alumni Day on Friday, September 19, 2014. For more information visit the LSUSD website at www.lsusd.lsuhsc.edu.


LSU Health Sciences Center Homepage
Disclaimer, Privacy Policy
© Copyright 2021. All rights reserved.

Last Update 6/2014