News Archives

Recognizing Leadership

Janice Townsend, DDS, MS, is the recipient of the 2015 Jerome B. Miller Crest Oral B for the Kids Award from the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD). Presented to an up-an-coming clinician, researcher, or academician in pediatric dentistry, the award recognizes an individual's outstanding efforts in children's oral health and welfare.

Dr. Townsend, associate professor and chair of the Department of Pediatric Dentistry, holds the Blue Cross Blue Shield of Louisiana Professorship in Pediatric Dentistry. An active member of the AAPD, she currently serves on the editorial board of Pediatric Dentistry and on the Scientific Program Committee, and chairs the annual poster competition. She has been an examiner for the American Board of Pediatric Dentistry since 2010, is chair-elect of the American Dental Education Association (ADEA) Pediatric Dentistry Section, and an alumna of the ADEA Leadership Institute.

Dr. Townsend, a recipient of an LSUSD Golden Apple Teaching Award, is a member of Omicron Kappa Upsilon (OKU), the national dental honor society, and the C. Edmund Kells Society.

Janice Townsend, DDS, MS


Van Himel, DDS, professor and chair of the Department of Endodontics, recently assumed the position of treasurer of the American Board of Endodontics. A director since 2012, he is a member of numerous board committees, including Ethics, Recertification, and Written Exam Construction.

Dr. Himel received his DDS and certificate in endodontics from LSUSD in 1973 and 1982, respectively. A full-time member of the LSUSD faculty from 1984-1989, he joined the University of Tennessee College of Dentistry faculty in 1989. He then returned to LSUSD in 2009 to head the Department of Endodontics. He holds the Raymond Luebke Professorship in Endodontics.

A recipient of numerous research grants and the author of many articles and podcasts, Dr. Himel has also authored chapters in the major endodontic textbooks. He is a manuscript reviewer for the Journal of Endodontics.

Van Himel, DDS


Suzanne Farrar, RDH, MSHCM, has been elected president of the LSU Health Sciences Center Faculty Senate for the academic year. With representation from all six schools in the health sciences center, the primary role of the Senate is to monitor topics of interest to faculty and to help ensure that the faculty perspective is part of the decision-making process on all important university governance issues.

Ms. Farrar, associate professor in the Department of Comprehensive Dentistry and Biomaterials, Division of Administration, is director of clinical staff and patient services. Her previous leadership roles include president of the LSUSD Faculty Assembly and president of the Louisiana Dental Hygienists Association (LDHA). She is currently legislative chair for the LDHA. In 2010 she was the recipient of the LDHA Outstanding Dental Hygienist Award and she is a 2011 alumna of the ADEA Leadership Institute. Ms. Farrar has received three Golden Apples and is a member of OKU.

Suzanne Farrar, RDH, MSHCM


LSU Health Sciences Center Homepage
Disclaimer, Privacy Policy
© Copyright 2021. All rights reserved.

Last Update 8/2015