Dr. Henry Gremillion Appointed LSUSD Dean

Henry Gremillion, DDS, MAGD, a Louisiana native, 1977 graduate of the LSU School of Dentistry (LSUSD), clinician and researcher, has been appointed the new dean of the LSU School of Dentistry. He will be the sixth dean since the founding of the dental school in 1968. Dr. Gremillion was recruited from the University of Florida College of Dentistry where he was the Parker E. Mahan Endowed Professor of Orofacial Pain in the Department of Orthodontics and a member of the Dental Staff of Shands Teaching Hospital. He also served as Director of the Fellowship in Craniomandibular Dysfunction at the UFCD Parker E. Mahan Facial Pain Center, a post he held since 1991. In 2005, he was appointed as Associate Faculty at the Dawson Center for Advanced Dental Education. He has also been a member of the Associate Faculty of the L.D. Pankey Institute for Advanced Dental Education since 1986. Dr. Gremillion serves as a consultant to the Malcolm Randall Veterans Administration Hospital, the United States Army, Navy, and Air Force on Temporomandibular Disorders and Orofacial Pain, and to the American Dental Association's Council on Dental Practice. Dr. Gremillion began his professional career practicing general dentistry in Cottonport, LA from 1977 - 1989. He was named Cottonport Citizen of the Year in 1989. He also served on the City Council. Earlier this year, the Academy of General Dentistry honored him with the Thaddeus V. Weclew award for his "exceptional contributions to the art and science of dentistry and for promoting the principles and ideals of the academy". In 2000, he also received the LSUSD Alumnus of the Year award. Since 2002, he has been co-investigator in four research projects with funding in excess of $3,000,000. In the last two years, he has authored seven scientific articles and textbook chapters. He succeeds Dr. Hovland, who served as dean for fifteen years.


LSU Health Sciences Center Homepage
Disclaimer, Privacy Policy
Copyright 2021. All rights reserved.

Last Update 12/2009