News Archive

Congratulations Class of 2015

This spring marked the 44th graduation of students from the LSUHSC School of Dentistry (LSUSD). On May 14, 2015, over 100 students received degrees (62 doctors of dental surgery, 37 bachelors of science in dental hygiene, and 8 associates of science in dental laboratory technology). At the Recognition Ceremony, held on May 13 at the dental school, deserving students received departmental and professional association awards.

The top students from each program received the Dean's and Chancellor's Awards. Kelsey Creel (DLT), Joanna Boutwell (Dental Hygiene), and Caroline Sikes (Dentistry) received the Dean’s Awards. Paul Nguyen (DLT), Kashia Vice (Dental Hygiene-Lafayette), and Sarah George (Dentistry) received the Chancellor’s Awards.

Dean's and Chancellor's Award recipients (l-r) Caroline Sikes, Sarah George, Joanna Boutwell, Dean Henry Gremillion, Kelsey Creel, Paul Nguyen (not pictured:  Kashia Vice)

Andrew Murphy, DDS '83, president of the LSUSD Alumni Association, presented leadership awards to Brent Benoit (Dentistry), Christy Marcello (Dentistry), Rekha Wadhwa (Dentistry), Lauren Breaux (Dental Hygiene), and Huyen-Tram "Selena" Nguyen (DLT).

Also during the Recognition Ceremony, members of the faculty were honored for excellence in teaching. Chosen by the graduates of each program, recipients of Golden Apple Awards were Sherrod Quin, DDS, associate professor, comprehensive dentistry; Heather Allen, RDH, MSHCM, assistant clinical professor, program in dental hygiene; and Lenny Aucoin, CDT, MEd, associate professor, program in dental laboratory technology. An additional Golden Apple was awarded posthumously to Dr. William Schmidt, a member of the Department of Comprehensive Dentistry who passed away during the academic year.

At the commencement ceremony, the LSUHSC Copping Award for Excellence in Teaching at the School of Dentistry was presented to Richard Ballard, DDS, associate professor of orthodontics. Peter Oliver, PhD, assistant professor of cell biology and anatomy, and course director of the dental anatomy course, received the Copping Award for the Basic Sciences.

Leadership Award recipients (l-r) Christy Marcello, Brent Benoit, Dean Gremillion, Dr. Andrew Murphy, Lauren Breaux, Rekha Wadhwa (not pictured:  Selena Ngyuen)

To view the list of graduates, click here.


LSUSD Alumni Awards:  Call for Nominations

Nominations are being accepted for two awards, Alumnus of the Year and Distinguished Alumnus. The Alumnus of the Year Award (est. 1998) is the highest honor bestowed by the school. The hallmark of each recipient is a distinctive career of lifetime achievement as well as a commitment to strengthen LSUSD through volunteerism and financial support.

The Distinguished Alumnus Award (est. 2014) recognizes a graduate who has shown extraordinary lifetime professional achievement in the areas of dental education, research, or community service. The award honors those who have made significant contributions to the profession of dentistry.

The deadline for nominations is July 31, 2015. Recipients will be honored at Alumni Day on Friday, September 25, 2015. For more information visit the LSUSD website at www.lsusd.lsuhsc.edu.


LSU Health Sciences Center Homepage
Disclaimer, Privacy Policy
© Copyright 2021. All rights reserved.

Last Update 6/2015