News Archives

FEMA Approves Annex Building

On March 17, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced that it had approved a $58.4 million grant to LSUSD for mitigation of damage caused by Hurricane Katrina.

The elevated building will include clinical and basic science research areas, a state-of-the-art faculty practice, and the mechanical and electrical equipment that will operate the three buildings. All three of these components were previously housed on either the first floors or basement of the existing buildings. Following Katrina, FEMA prohibited using these areas for any critical operations to avoid loss from future catastrophic flooding.

School of Dentistry Dean Henry Gremillion said that bids for the project should be let over the next 90 days and construction will be completed in less than three years.

Special thanks to the members and leadership of the Louisiana Dental Association, as well as the Louisiana legislative delegation in Washington, for their support of this important effort.

It is important to note that the funds are restricted to the new building and may not be applied to other projects or budget shortfalls.

Architectural rendering of the LSUSD Annex Building


Departmental Leadership Changes

Gerald Evans, DDS, professor of periodontics, who since Hurricane Katrina has led the department as interim chair, was named chair in September 2014. Dr. Evans, a 1979 LSUSD graduate, received his certificate in periodontics from LSUSD in 1982. He joined the faculty in 1982, attaining the rank of full professor in 1998. He is a diplomate of the American Board of Periodontology. The 2002 recipient of the LSUHSC Allen Copping Excellence in Teaching Award, Dr. Evans has chaired the LSUSD Promotions and Tenure Committee since 2009.

Paul Armbruster, MS, DDS, associate professor of orthodontics and interim chairman of the department since 2008, was named chair in September 2014. He has also been director of the orthodontics advanced education program since 2006. Dr. Armbruster received an MS from the University of New Orleans in 1990, DDS from LSUSD in 1996, and certificate in orthodontics from LSUSD in 1998, when he joined the orthodontics faculty. Since 1999 he has been faculty moderator of the C. Edmund Kells Honor Society. He is a diplomate in the American Board of Orthodontics and holds the Marshall Gottsegen Professorship in Orthodontics.

Janice Townsend, DDS, MS, associate professor of pediatric dentistry, who served as interim chair since 2010, was named chair in December 2014. A native of North Carolina, she received her DDS from Marquette University School of Dentistry in 2005 and her certificate in pediatric dentistry from The Ohio State University in 2007. She has been a member of the LSUSD faculty since 2007 and holds the Blue Cross Blue Shield of Louisiana Professorship in Pediatric Dentistry. Dr. Townsend is chair-elect of the Pediatric Dentistry Section of the American Dental Education Association and chairs the LSUSD Humanistic Culture and Environment Committee.

Kitrina Cordell, DDS, MS, associate professor of oral and maxillofacial pathology, is interim chair of the newly created Department of Diagnostic Sciences, which includes oral pathology, oral radiology, oral diagnosis, and the HIV Outpatient Dental Program. Dr. Cordell received both her DDS and MS from The Ohio State University, in 1999 and 2002, respectively. From 2002–2010 she was a faculty member at the University of Michigan School of Dentistry, joining LSUSD in 2010. She is a diplomat of the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology. In 2013 she was recipient of the LSUHSC Allen Copping Excellence in Teaching Award.

John P. Neary, MD, DDS, assistant professor, was named interim chair of the Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery in July 2014. Prior to joining LSUSD in November 2013, he was in private practice in the Akron, Ohio, area. He received his DDS from The Ohio State University in 1986, certificate in oral and maxillofacial surgery from LSUSD in 1990, and MD from LSU in 1992. From 1993-2013 he was clinical assistant professor at Case Western University. Dr. Neary has completed a general surgery residency and a fellowship in facial cosmetic surgery. He is a diplomate of the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery and fellow of the American College of Surgeons, American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons, and American Academy of Cosmetic Surgery.

LSU Health Sciences Center Homepage
Disclaimer, Privacy Policy
© Copyright 2021. All rights reserved.

Last Update 4/2015