Legacies for Education

The Wall of Honor listing the endowed professorships and chairs is located in the fourth-floor foyer of the administration building.

At any given time, there are about 400 vacant faculty positions at the 62 dental schools in the United States. The ongoing challenge to recruit and retain top-quality faculty goes to the heart of dental education. An innovative solution is to create professorships and chairs as a way to supplement the academic pursuits of superior faculty.

The donor contributes the original fund, the endowment, which is matched with monies from the Louisiana Board of Regents. This total stays intact while the annual interest is used by the professor to pursue educational, research and public service interests.

The minimum contribution for a professorship is $60,000 which is then matched with $40,000 from the Louisiana Board of Regents to create a $100,000 endowment. The minimum contribution for a chair is $600,000, with a $400,000 match to create a $1 million endowment.

From a donor's perspective, this can be a meaningful way to establish a legacy while advancing dental education. Below is a listing of those who hold these prestigious endowments.

Professorships and Chairs

Paul C. Armbruster, MS, DDS
Marshall I. Gottsegen Professorship in Orthodontics

Richard Ballard, DDS
Guy A. Favaloro Professorship in Orthodontics

Toby J. Cheramie, DDS
Robert Eastman Professorship in Comprehensive Dentistry

Paul L. Fidel, Jr., PhD
Carl Baldridge Chair in Oral and Craniofacial Surgery

Van T. Himel, DDS
Raymond Luebke Professorship in Endodontics

J Lee Hochstedler, DDS, FACP
Hank Helmer Directional Drilling Professorship in Prosthodontics

John N. Kent, DDS
James R. Peltier Chair in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery

Arturo Jose Mendez, DDS, MSc
Brasseler USA Professorship in Prosthodontics

Mairi C. Noverr, PhD
William and Sarah Pelon Professorship in Oral and Craniofacial Biology

Alan Ripps, DMD, MEd, FACD
Ralph and Lily Dauterive Professorship in Operative Dentistry

John R. Ritchie, DDS, MEd
Marie Copping Professorship in General Dentistry

Xiaoming Xu, PhD
Jack Sheridan Professorship in Student Clinical Dental Research

LSU Health Sciences Center Homepage
Disclaimer, Privacy Policy
© Copyright 2011. All rights reserved.

Last Update 10/2011