## LSUSD Shines at ADEA Meeting

Four LSUHSC School of Dentistry (LSUSD) faculty members and students were recognized and appointed to leadership roles at the American Dental Education Association (ADEA) annual session this spring in Orlando. With over 19,000 members, ADEA is the sole national organization representing academic dentistry. Its mission is to lead individuals and institutions of the dental education community to address contemporary issues influencing education, research and the delivery of oral health care.

**Dean Henry Gremillion** was elected to serve a threeyear term on the ADEA Council of Deans Administrative



Board. An integral part of the association's governance structure, this board serves to support and strengthen its mission. Suzanne Farrar, RDH, MSHCM, associate professor and director

of clinical staff and patient services, graduated from the year-long ADEA Leadership Institute. She was one of 24 dental educators chosen as a fellow to receive special training through the institute. The purpose of the annual program is to develop the leadership potential of the nation's most promising dental educators.

**Sumit Patel**, second-year dental student, was named Regional Representative of the Year by the ADEA Council of Students, Residents and Fellows (COSRF). Mr. Patel has served as class delegate to ADEA for two years and is also liaison to the COSRF Administrative Board for students, residents, and fellows at dental schools in the seven states of the south central region. Mentoring new ADEA chapters, serving in the ADEA House of Delegates, and submitting newsletter articles are among the many duties of student board members. The award, given for outstanding effort, was announced at the annual session.

In addition, **Sumei Zhong**, first-year dental student, was elected representative to the COSRF South Central Region

and will share responsibilities with Sumit Patel during the coming year. Both regional representatives are now **LSUSD** students. Ms. Zhong is the **ADEA** representative for the firstyear class.



## Alumni Recognized at LDA Session

**E. Jeffrey Hooton**, DDS '84, a general dentist practicing in Monroe, was installed as Louisiana Dental Association (LDA) president for 2012-2013.

**Stephanie B. Weaver**, DDS '99, a general dentist practicing in Lake Charles, was installed as president-elect of the LDA for 2012-2013.

**Terry Fugetta**, DDS '77, was named a recipient of the LDA Distinguished Service Award, the highest honor bestowed by the association. Dr. Fugetta is a general dentist in Metairie.

**Eric Geist**, DDS '79, OMS '84, was also named recipient of the LDA Distinguished Service Award. An oral and maxillofacial surgeon practicing in Monroe, Dr. Geist

received the LSUSD 2011 Alumnus of the Year Award. **Johnnie Hunt**, DDS '00, Pediatric Dentistry '02, was named the 2012 recipient of the LDA New Dentist Award. The award recognizes dentists who have distinguished themselves by giving their time and talents for the betterment of mankind. Dr. Hunt practices pediatric dentistry in Baton Rouge.

**Stan Cowley, Jr.**, DDS '75, was named the first-ever recipient of the LDA Humanitarian Award. The award recognizes dentists who have distinguished themselves through outstanding dental service activities in the United States or abroad. Dr. Cowley is a general dentist in Metairie.